Looking for how many types of passports are there in India and What is type P in Indian Passport? Let’s take a look at the different types of passport in India.

An Indian passport is something commonly owned by the citizens of this country. A passport is not just a travel document; but also something that serves as valid identity proof. The Consular Passport and Visa Division issue the passport, which comes under the Ministry of External Affairs. The Passports Act of 1967 governs the issuance of passports, and the government offers several types of passports to its citizens.

Before we go into that, here’s a brief about what a typical passport is.

Indian Passport

In layman terms, a passport is a document used for international travel. The passport will contain information about the holder’s name, nationality, sex, date of birth, place of birth, signature and a clear photograph.

In simple terms, a passport is a standard travel document that certifies the nationality and identity of an individual.

While most features of passports are common everywhere in the world, within countries, there could be different types of passports serving different purposes. Let’s dive into how many types of passports are there in India in detail. Basically, there are three types of Indian passport available.

How many types of passports are there in India

how many types of passports are there in India

Types of passport in India

Let’s take a look at how many types of passports are there in India and What is type P in Indian Passport?

 Type P Passport | Regular Passport

Regular Passport is one of the types of passport in India which is most commonly used. The cover of a regular passport is Navy Blue. Ordinary people, as well as VIPs, can issue this passport. You can use this passport for regular or ordinary travel on personal grounds, such as vacations and business trips. A regular passport is a Type P passport or P-Type passport where P denotes personal. Type P passport is available in booklets of 36 or 60 pages. These passports do not grant the holder any special benefits.

SO here is the answer to your question What is type P in Indian Passport?

Regular passports are Type P passports or P-Type passports, with P denoting personal

The Diplomatic Indian Passport

One of the prestigious types of passport in India. It is the elite kind of Indian passport, with a Maroon cover. Indian diplomats, top-ranking government officials, consuls, and top officials of the Indian Foreign Service on duty, as well as their dependents, and essentially anyone anointed with the status of a diplomat, are eligible for a Diplomatic Indian Passport. It is important to note that having a Diplomatic passport does not grant you Diplomatic immunity.

The Official Indian Passport

It has a white cover and is usually given to government employees who are on national duty, usually to represent the country. Please keep in mind that such passports are only issued to people who travel internationally for official state business and not to individuals travelling for overseas assignments. Individuals who are completely reliant on Indian Foreign Service officials are also issued such passports (Branch A & B). An Official passport holder is not eligible for any special privileges.

Now you know how many types of passports are there in India. If you are wondering how to apply for an Indian Passport then keep reading.

How to apply for an Indian passport

You can apply for an Indian passport in 2 ways :

  1. one is through an online application where an applicant can submit the online application and get a prior appointment for the personal appearance with the required documents
  2. In the second case, the applicant can directly obtain the form from the designated Passport Seva Kendra (PSK) in the city. And then, the applicant can submit the filled-in application form directly. Along with the proof of residence, date of birth, change of name, documents for ECNR, passport size photographs etc.

All self-attested copies of certificates/documents would be checked against originals at the Passport Office at the time of submission of application. The normal time taken for issuance of a passport is five to six weeks. However, in case of an emergency, you can apply for a fresh or duplicate passport under the ‘Tatkaal’ scheme.

This allows you to issue passports in exchange for a fee in addition to the normal passport application fee. The ‘Tatkaal’ Scheme would only be applicable in cases where

  • you do not require the police verification report (minors less than 15 years of age) or
  • a situation in which a person can issue a passport on post police verification basis. (duplicate passport/re-issue of passport without change in address,
  • Government servants with NOC and their spouses and applications with Verification Certificates).

If you are someone planning to apply for an Indian passport, please visit our website www.itzeazy.com  

also read

Difference Between Passport Renewal and Passport Reissue

Passport fees in India

Name Change in Passport 


Here I will conclude the topic of how many types of passports are there in India | types of passport in India | What is type p in Indian passport? Please leave a comment and share if you enjoyed the article.