Schengen Visa Countries | Schengen Country list is comprised of 26 countries that have agreed to allow free movement of their citizens within this area as a single country. Of the 26 countries bound by the Schengen agreement, 22 are part of the EU and the other 4 are part of the EFTA.

Schengen Visa Countries

A Schengen Visa is the document issued by the appropriate authorities to the interested party for visiting/traveling to and within the Schengen visa countries. Schengen visa holders are free to travel within all Schengen countries, including the Schengen visa countries of the European Union as well as those of the EFTA Schengen countries, while their visa is valid.

Schengen visa countries cover the majority of European countries, except for the United Kingdom and countries such as Bulgaria and Ireland soon to be part of the agreement. However, there are countries that are not part of the EU like Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Lichtenstein yet do belong in the Schengen countries and cherish the free movement policy.

List of Schengen Visa countries

  1. Austria*
  2. Belgium*
  3. The Czech Republic*
  4. Denmark*
  5. Estonia*
  6. Finland*
  7. France*
  8. Germany*
  9. Greece*
  10. Hungary*
  11. Iceland
  12. Italy*
  13. Latvia*
  14. Liechtenstein
  15. Lithuania*
  16. Luxembourg*
  17. Malta*
  18. The Netherlands*
  19. Norway
  20. Poland*
  21. Portugal*
  22. Slovakia*
  23. Slovenia*
  24. Spain*
  25. Sweden*
  26. Switzerland


What does EFTA stand for why was it formed?

The EFTA stands for European Free Trade Association and it was formed to promote closer economic cooperation and free trade in Europe.

EFTA is a group of ten Fair Trade importers from nine European countries (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom). The European Free Trade Association was founded in 1987 by some of the oldest and largest Fair Trade importers (EFTA). It received formal recognition in 1990. The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) is based in the Netherlands and operates under Dutch Articles of Association.

also read

Germany Visa from India

Belgium Visa for Indians

Denmark Visa from India


Difference Between EFTA and EU


How does EFTA differ from EU?

While the EFTA stands for an association of ten Fair Trade importers in nine European countries (Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, The Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland and the United Kingdom).

The EU is a group of mostly European countries, (28 to be exact) that participate in the world economy as one economic unit and operate under one official currency, the euro.

Non- Schengen countries that allow entry for Schengen visa holders

There are 19 countries that are not part of the EU, nor of the Schengen visa countries, yet they ALLOW foreign citizens of other non-Schengen countries to enter and stay in their territories, ONLY by showing a valid Schengen Visa. Such foreigners do NOT need a national visa issued from these countries to enter, transit and stay in their territory temporarily.

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Belarus
  3. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  4. Bulgaria
  5. Columbia
  6. Croatia
  7. Cyprus
  8. Georgia
  9. Gibraltar
  10. Kosovo
  11. Macedonia (The Former Yugoslav Republic)
  12. Montenegro
  13. Romania
  14. Sao Tome and Principe
  15. Serbia
  16. Turkey

That’s all about Non- The schengen countries list. Your Schengen Visa will allow you to freely move to the above-mentioned countries. But it is advisable to gather as much information regarding your destination country before you plan your holiday.